Sunday, July 24, 2016
Sigma Alpha Iota Home Page Resize to Regular Text Resize to Medium Text Resize to Large Text
  Submit Search
Quick Links   



VPMs:  MIT TRAINING CURRICULUM  (available in the Officer Portal document library)



(also available in the Officer Portal document library)


Daniel David Feinsmith   



Daniel David Feinsmith (b: New York City, 1966) is a composer who writes in the modern and experimental classical genre for the concert hall, film, theatre, and dance. Among his concert music works that have been put to use in films and theatrical productions are Kain, Three Movements for Violin, Viola, Cello, and Contrabass, based on Edgar Allan Poe's "The Fall of the House of Usher," and String Quartet No. 2, based on Chagall's "Le Roi David," Rembrandt's "King David," and Michelangelo's "David". Uriel, Four Movements for Solo Cello resulted from music that Feinsmith wrote for Rob Nilsson's feature film, "Attitude".

The recipient of awards, grants, and commissions from Pacific Film Archive, Berkeley Civic Arts Commission, Jess Shenson Music Fund, Los Angeles Jewish Music Commission, Composers and Choreographers Consortium, Djerassi Resident Artists Program, ASCAP, and others, Feinsmith's works have been premiered by notable performers such as the Alexander String Quartet and soprano Greta Feeney of the San Francisco Opera. Future premieres include "Leviathan, Three Movements for Solo Piano, to be given by Grammy Award Nominee David Holzman, for whom it was written.

Feinsmith, whose family history boasts a multi-generational line of composers and musical performers traced back to the 1600s has studied Western classical composition principally with Terry Riley, Edmund Campion, and John Thow. In a series of extended trips to India, Feinsmith has also studied North Indian classical music and vocal techniques. He is a member of ASCAP and currently lives in the California Bay Area.

Contact Information

Rosalie Calabrese Management
Box 20580, Park West Station
New York, NY 10025-1521
Tel: (212) 663-6620
Fax: (212) 663-5941

Composers A-E | Composers F-J | Composers K-O | Composers P-T | Composers U-Z

Privacy  | Copyright © 2016 by Sigma Alpha Iota, One Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805  | Terms and Conditions