Friday, July 21, 2017
Sigma Alpha Iota Home Page Resize to Regular Text Resize to Medium Text Resize to Large Text
  Submit Search
Quick Links   



(available in the Officer Portal document library)


(available in the Officer Portal document library)


(available in the Officer Portal document library)


Bruce J. Taub   

SAI National Arts Associate



Bruce J. Taub was born in New York City on February 6th, 1948. He began studying the bassoon at an early age with David Manchester of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and attended the High School of Music and Art. He was an active performer for many years as a member of the Composers Ensemble in New York. He has studied composition with Mario Davidovsky, Vladimir Ussachevsky, Jack Beeson, Chou Wen-chung and Charles Dodge at Columbia University, School of the Arts where he was one of the first two recipients of the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in 1974.

Mr. Taub's prizes and awards include: the Marc Brunswick Award in Musical Composition (for String Trio, 1969); Columbia University Fellow of the Faculty, National Defense Education Act Fellowship, 1969-71; the Joseph H. Beams Prize in Music (Variations, 1971); BMI Award (Six Pieces for Orchestra, 1973); National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship (chamber opera, Passion, Poison, and Petrifaction, 1975); Fellowship to the 1975 Composers Conference in Johnson, Vermont and the 1985 Composers Conference in Wellesley, Massachusetts; Commission from the Criterion Foundation (Of Things Past, 1976); Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts (full length opera, Waltz on a Merry-Go-Round, 1981); Fellowship to the Charles Ives Center for American Music, 1984 and 1985; Friends of Harvey Gaul Composition Contest (Extremities II, 1984); Finalist, the 1987 Kucyna International Composition Contest (Extremities II, 1987); Commission from Sigma Alpha Iota (Inter-American Music Awards) (Three Preludes, 1987); Commission from the Cleveland Chamber Symphony (Edwin London, Conductor) (An Often Fatal Malady, 1990 and Lady Mondegreen Sings the Blues, 1995); Commission from the Fromm Foundation (Adrian's Dream, 1995).

From 1974-76 he served as the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the American Society of University Composers and from 1977 through the present he has been the Editor of the SCI (A.S.U.C.) Journal of Music Scores. Mr. Taub has taught at the City College of the City University of New York and at Columbia University. In 1974 he served as a Delegate to the International Conference on New Musical Notation at the University of Ghent in Belgium and was Assistant to the Director of the Index of New Musical Notation at Lincoln Center.

Mr. Taub has written over sixty compositions including pieces for orchestra, solo instruments, chamber ensemble, tape, computer, the ballet and two operas. His compositions have been performed by many contemporary music ensembles and at universities throughout the United States and Europe. His music is published by the American Composers Alliance, Music for Percussion and C.F. Peters Corporation. He is a member of BMI, the American Music Center, NACUSA and has been a member of the Board of Governors of the American Composers Alliance. In 1990 he was made a National Arts Associate of Sigma Alpha Iota.

From 1978-2000, Mr. Taub was the Editor in Chief for C.F. Peters Corporation, Music Publishers, and a freelance consultant annd computer music engraver.

Contact Information

54 W. 16th St., Apt. 4E
New York, NY 10011
Phone: 212/924-8426


Annual Updates



Frozen on Each Face, for violin and piano, was introduced May 5, 2008, by violinist Curtis Macomber and pianist Stephen Gosling, Washington Square Society for Contemporary Music, Merkin Hall, New York, NY.


Frozen on Each Face, violin and piano; Association for the Promotion of New Music. Serenade and Capriccio, alto saxophone and piano; C.F. Peters Corporation.


Contrasts, includes Serenade and Capriccio for alto saxophone and piano,  Harvey Pittell and Craig Williams; CRS Artist.

Composers A-E | Composers F-J | Composers K-O | Composers P-T | Composers U-Z

Privacy  | Copyright © 2016 by Sigma Alpha Iota, One Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805  | Terms and Conditions