A triennial composition competition established in 1948, the Inter-American Music Awards are open to composers residing in North, Central and South America, with no age limit.

Two major American composers are invited to judge each IAMA competition. In addition to their judging responsibilities, the composer-judges each write a work to be published in the Sigma Alpha Iota IAMA series. Current or former students of either of the announced judges are ineligible to apply.

Details for the upcoming Composer-Judges and competition will be posted in the near future.

Each triennium, Sigma Alpha Iota Philanthropies, Inc. specifies the particular combination of instruments and/or voices for which entries must be written, and the length of the work. Recent competitions have called for:

  • Brass quintet, no longer than ten (10) minutes in duration, suitable for advanced college performance
  • an instrumental work for no more than 4 performers, with or without piano, the winning composition being for two pianos; and
  • an instrumental work for solo string instrument (violin, viola, or cello), the winning composition being for violin.
  • Children's choir
  • Strings

Application Procedures
The IAMA competition brochure and application is mailed out and posted online in the middle year of the triennium. The judging takes place in the summer preceding the Convention year. The winner is announced at Convention, and the premieres of the winning work, and of the compositions commissioned from by the composer-judges, take place during the Convention.

Application/award information will be posted in the near future.


For the 2018 National Convention, the competition sought works for Solo Piano, no longer than 10 minutes in length.

The 2018 Composer-Judges were:

Dr. Richard Crosby
SAI National Arts Associate, member of the SAI Composers Bureau,
and former National President of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia


Bonnie Ruth Janofsky
SAI initiate of Beta Upsilon, California State U-Los Angeles, former affiliate
of the Los Angeles Alumnae Chapter, and a member of the SAI Composers Bureau

Steven Cohen was named the winner of the 2018 IAMA Competition for his composition Toccata Veronese.


The Sigma Alpha Iota IAMA series is published by
C.F. Peters Corporation
70-30 80th Street
Glendale, NY 11385
Phone: (718) 416-7800
Fax: (718) 416-7805
For further information, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Project Director.